HISTORICAL EVOLUTION OF THE TERRITORY
Before the arrival in 1793, of the first English loyalist settlers, it seems that once upon a time the region was populated by the Iroquois and the Abenakis. The first inhabitants established in the locality around 1800 and notably in the Burrough’s Fall area. The territorial division divided into townships, and the Township of Hatley was proclaimed in March of 1803.
Originally, the inhabitants made a living by farming, cutting wood and producing potash, and after by trading whisky thanks to a distillery erected around 1810.
The construction of a railway around 1880 allowed for the arrival of the Francophone population and the American tourists who were attracted to these charming places.
In 1912, the Village of Hatley detached itself from the Township of Hatley and became a Municipality of its own. Five years later, the Municipality of West Hatley also withdrew itself from the Township of Hatley and formed its own Municipality.
In 1990, the population of the Municipality of West Hatley increased to 434 and the Village of Hatley to 206 inhabitants. On September 27th, 1995, the two municipalities finally regroup and become the Municipality of Hatley.
Mémoires du Québec. 2012, Éphémérides de Hatley
(Site consulté le 05 janvier 2012)
GrandQuébec.com. 2012. Hatley
MRC de Mémphremagog. 2012.